Along with the world’s reserve currency – the U.S. dollar, currently, there are other regional and international reserve currency. In 1978. Nine countries – members of the European Union adopted a plan to create the European Monetary System, for which the control was created by the European Monetary Cooperation Fund. By 1999. these countries have drawn up a so-called eurozone, was the transition to the single European currency, the euro.
The euro was released in the form of banknotes of 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200 and 500 (see Fig. 1.1) and coins of 1 and 2 Euros and 50, 20,10, 5, 2 and 1 cent.
Euro is a regional reserve currency for the euro-zone countries and the Japanese yen – for South-East Asia. In certain situations, the international reserve currency is also the Swiss franc.